Catalyzing collaboration, innovation & values driven leadership

Annual Leadership Award

2003 Award Nominees

The list of nominees for the 2003 Dan Hanley Memorial Trust Leadership Award is astonishing for the depth and breadth of experience and dedication it represents. Nominees are individuals, teams, and organizations engaged in work that spans the healthcare spectrum; direct medical care; community-based coalitions; dental and mental health care; patient safety; family planning; domestic violence; healthcare administration; research and development; regulation and government; and international peace. Nominees come from organizations with roots in Maine, as well as national organizations whose work influences healthcare delivery and performance in our state. Collectively, their work paints an extraordinary picture of courage, innovation, personal leadership, kindness, hard work and collaboration within Maine and beyond.

Individuals presenting nominations also spanned a wide range of interests and backgrounds. Common among all was an appreciation for the important difference which value driven leadership can make in the lives of patients, caregivers and communities. The Dan Hanley Trust is deeply grateful to the 39 individuals who presented nominations for this year’s award and honored to present the following nominees.

Earl E. Bakken:-Dr. Bakken is co-founder and Chairman Emeritus of Medtronic, Inc., a bioengineering firm that develops scientific instruments to promote health and healing.

Richard Batt - Mr. Batt, President and CEO of Franklin Memorial Hospital (FMH) and Franklin Community Health Network (FCHN).

Donna Beaulieu - Ms. Beaulieu, is the laboratory manager at Central Maine Medical Center (CMMC) .

Richard T. Chamberlin, MD - Dr. Chamberlin is honored for a lifetime of work as a clinician, educator and administrator.

M. Bridget Duffy, MD - Dr. Duffy, Medical Director of Medtronics, Inc.

Stanley James Evans, MD, FASAM: - Dr. Evans is currently Medical Director of The Recovery Center at Mercy Hospital.

Maureen Quinn Farley, RN, BSN: - A Commander in the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps

Benjamin Grasso, MD, and Constance W. Jordan, MSN, ANP: -Dr. Grasso and Ms. Jordan are jointly honored for their collaborative and groundbreaking work in medication error in the field of Psychiatry and for advocacy in patient safety. .

Bethany Hays, MD, FACOG: -Dr. Hays is the Chief of Mercy Hospital’s Division of Integrative Care.

Mark R. Henschke, DO, PharmD. MMM: - He is currently associated with Columbia-HCA, and founder of its Maine/New Hampshire physicians organization.

Robert Hiam and Robert Nickel: - Mr. Hiam and Mr. Nickel are honored for their visionary leadership in the Hawaii Medical Service Association (HMSA), a non-profit Blue Cross Blue Shield Affiliate.

Larry O. Hopperstead, MD, FACS: -Dr. Hopperstead, Director of the Trauma Center at Central Maine Medical Center (CMMC).

Elizabeth Isele: - Ms. Isele is Founder and President of

John A. LaCasse, EngScD: - Mr. LaCasse, President and CEO of Medical Care Development (MCD).

Carol J. Lane, MS, PT: - Ms Lane is a Physical Therapist with 16 years experience, and the owner of Exuberant Living LLC – Physical and Occupational Therapy and Naturopathic Laboratory (Dixmont).

Norman A. Ledwin: - Mr. Ledwin, President and CEO of Eastern Maine Healthcare / Eastern Maine Medical Center (EMMC)

Lisa M. Letourneau, MD, MPH: - Dr. Letourneau is Director of Clinical Integration at MaineHealth.

Doug Libby: - Mr. Libby has led the Maine Health Management Coalition (MHMC) as its Executive Director for the past 10 years.

Rebecca Martins: Earl E. Bakken:- Ms. Martin is honored for her advocacy for a safer healthcare system for the people of Maine.

Donald L. McDowell: - Mr. McDowell is past President of MaineHealth and Maine Medical Center (MMC).

Edward F. Miller: - Mr. Miller is CEO of American Lung Association of Maine.

William L. Newkirk, MD, FACPM: - Dr. Newkirk is Director of Occupational Medicine at Redington Fairview General Hospital, Founder of Ohio Employee Health Partnership, and Founder of Occupational Health Research (Maine and California).

Sister Mary Norberta, CSSF, FACHE: - Sister Norberta is President and CEO of St. Joseph Hospital and St. Joseph Healthcare in Bangor.

Herbert Paris: - Mr. Paris, President and CEO of Mid Coast Health Services.

Burtt Richardson, MD: - Dr. Richardson, a pediatrician with Winthrop Family Pediatrics Center (Winthrop)

Vyvyenne Ritchie, RN, MScN, MA: - Ms. Ritchie is Executive Director of Downeast Health Services DEHS).

Victoria Rogers, MD: - She is Attending Pediatrician at the Barbara Bush Children’s Hospital (BBCH) Ambulatory Clinic at MMC; Director of Ah! Asthma Health for Children, founder of the Kids Run Better Unleaded Program at BBCH; and Co-Director of the Kids COOP at MMC.

Anthony J. Tomassoni, MD, MS, FACEP: - Director of the Northern New England Poison Center, Medical Director of the Office of Public Health and Emergency Preparedness and as a medical team manager for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Stephanie Walstedt, RN, BSN, WHCNP: - Ms. Walstedt has served as the Portland Regional Manager for Planned Parenthood of Northern New England (PPNNE) for 14 years as well as providing direct patient care.

John E. Wennberg, MD, MPH: - Dr. Wennberg is the Director of the Center for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School, where he is the Peggy Y. Thomson Chair for the Evaluative Clinical Sciences.

Peter Wilk, MD:- Dr. Wilk is a psychiatrist who has devoted his life to his family, private practice, community mental health, and international peace.

Organization Nominees

American Lung Association of Maine

Maine Employers’ Mutual Insurance Company

Medical Mutual Insurance Co. of Maine

Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield

Maine Oral Health Solutions

Penquis Community Action Program

Penobscot Community Health Center (PCHC)

Penobscot Dental Access Coalition